I Am With You

Standard

Someone told me that when a loved one passes away you should look for messages from them. I’m more of a pragmatic type gal. If I can’t see it I generally don’t believe it. I’ll admit I have been looking though, but no messages from Bob until just before Christmas. Then it started.

Someone sent me a text message giving me information about something they said they would get me. They told me the guy “who waited on me was named Bob – go figure.” I didn’t think much of it.

On Christmas Day I was programming a new land line phone and reading the directions. It said: “You can name your phones. For example, call one Bob and one Upstairs.” Yep, really.

On Christmas day I was at my brother and sister inlaw’s. One of Bob’s (our) nephews and his wife came in. She is expecting their second child. Someone asked, “When is the baby due?” She said “June 8th.” That’s the day Bob died. By now I’m shaking my head. Could this really be happening? And then it happened again…

Today I went to the dollar store and bought a package of toothbrush covers, along with a few other items. I was taking them out of my basket for the cashier to ring in and I looked at the toothbrush cover package. It said: “Dr. Bob OraCare.”

And I believe this was his message. “Don’t overreact (he always said that if I got upset about anything). Things will start getting better.” Maybe he was even saying he’d work to make things happen. But whatever the message was, things changed for the better starting on Christmas day and it’s been going that way ever since then.

Do our loved ones really come back or just stay with us to take care of us? I never thought so, but now I do believe.

8 responses »

  1. Suzanne, I do believe that those who we’ve loved and lost, never really leave us. They are there to protect and inspire us. We just have to look for the signs. I worked hard to achieve my Distinguished TM award. When the plaque came from CA, it was dated Nov 4, 2013. That would have been my father’s 100th birthday, had he still been alive. But it was a sign that he was there with me, encouraging me, and helping me realize that any goal was achievable if I worked hard enough. I have other such stories, but you get the idea. Bob will be with you as long as you need him to be.

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your story, Doreen. I really wasn’t sure it was possible. But there are just too many signs to ignore. And whether it’s true that our loved ones are with us, or not, in the end all that matters is that we believe. It’s what gets us through our life, believing that those we love most are in a safe place, a higher place of consciousness. And that they are guiding us through our life.

    Like

  3. Suzanne,

    It has been almost two years 1 year 11 months today, to be exact) since Lowell died. His name is not all that common, yet it showed up here and there at moments when it was needed. But the real thing has been dragonflies, which he loved and which he sends me during the season as a sort of hug. The day my sister married her love, their service was outside at a wonderful wilderness area, and in the parking kit before we went down the trail to the waterfall and natural cathedral, the air was full of dragonflies. And they will come and perch on my shoulder out in the garden, very peacefully. Others can call it coincidence. I call it comfort.

    Like

  4. Sometimes messages are subtle, subtle they hit you over the head with their obviousness. I believe that our dearly departed are still out there watching out for us though. I have stories of my own. I hope you take heart from his presence.

    Like

  5. My daughter had had two miscarriage and was terrified when she became pregnant for the third time that it would be another round of heart break. My mother came to her in a dream and told her she was so happy that she was going to have a baby and she would be wonderful mother. He was born nine months later all 10 lbs and she is a wonderful mother. From the time she had the dream, she knew this pregnancy would be successful, long before the gynocologist confirmed the fact.

    Like

  6. You are an inspiration Jodi. I don’t know how you managed. It only seems less than a year ago that Lowell died. Hugs from someone who truly shares your heartache and love.

    Like

  7. What an amazing and inspirational story Veronica. I have heard that loved ones visit in our dreams with messages. I am hoping that I will be seeing Bob soon. Thank you for sharing your story of joy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

